There are nine community property states: Arizona, California, Idaho, Louisiana, Nevada, New Mexico, Texas, Washington, and Wisconsin.  (Alaska has adopted an opt-in community property system.) 

In general, if you live in a community property state, most property acquired by either spouse during the marriage (with some exceptions) is owned jointly and equally by both spouses.  

Most community property states also apply the community property rules to registered domestic partners.  However, Wisconsin has a unique “marital property” system that does not apply in the same way to married couples and domestic partners.  Domestic partners living in Wisconsin should consult with an attorney before using the Tomorrow documents.

Community ownership is automatically presumed unless there is specific evidence to the contrary for a particular piece of property, like an inheritance that remains in a trust.

However, most community property states allow married couples to opt-out of community property treatment for some or all of their property by signing a marital agreement or property characterization agreement.  If this circumstance applies to you, you may want to engage an estate planning attorney who can help you decide. Since Tomorrow is not a law firm and does not provide legal advice, some people use the Tomorrow app to generate documents and then hire an attorney to review them before signing.

Feel free to reach out with questions or feedback:

Did this answer your question?